UPDATE:VERY Funny Broody story(I HATCHED!!!!)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by spencer creek, Jan 6, 2009.

1. spencer creek

spencer creek Out Of The Brooder

Dec 12, 2008
    Some of you that have helped me know that I am new to this. I am a horseperson by trade. I found Silkies on a horse website and you guessed it, the evil Silkie has taken me. My first incubator hatch is due Friday! (Thanks BYC) Prior to buying my incubator I questioned the heck out of everyone about making my hen broody. I coached her, tried talking her into it, nothing! I have fallen full blast into silkie reproduction. Little did I know.....

Last Night I discovered Nugget, my best and favorite black Silkie hen I have had for 2 months now, dead, head buried, flat as pancake laying in her nest box. Last week I introduced her to my young black roo in search of some fertile eggs and have been collecting and replacing w/golf balls. They have been having the time of their lives...if you know what I mean. Upon finding her, I yelled, poked and prodded to no end. That was it, she was gone and I was distraught. I ran up to the house to let my wife know, possibly blaming her for giving her something poisenous to snack on. Not a good idea. She yelled back saying I should have left her alone to lay us our eggs to eat and none of this would have happened. Me and my greedy needs of wanting to breed everything. Nugget lays the best eggs I have ever had. It's like she adds a squirt of butter in each egg. This was truley devastating. I collected supplies for the death march(bag and shovel)and headed back out to the barn to remove "the body". I thought to myself as I walked that my run with chickens was over, how could this have happened? I was just not meant to breed Silkies when I had killed one of three in under 2 months.