1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Updated with new pics, opinions please! Leg mites or feathered legs?? AND possible fungus on comb?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ElysianAcres, Aug 23, 2014.

1. ElysianAcres

ElysianAcres Out Of The Brooder

Aug 6, 2014
    I just adopted this Australorp x Silkie mix since she's a proven broody and good mother. The lady I got her from blamed the crazy raised scales on her legs on her feathered leg gene, saying that this chick's siblings all have feathered legs but this one doesn't. The first thing that jumped in my mind though is leg mites! I have no experience with this particular mix, or with leg mites, so I don't know if the lady is delusional or if she could be right.
    Also, I'm concerned about her comb- it is very sad looking and splotchy- does it look like fungus or mold (or... anything?)
    She is currently in quarantine, I've already bathed her legs and soaked her in warm soapy water, and I've already covered her legs in a paste of vaseline and peppermint oil just to be safe. She won't be interacting with my flock until I'm positive that I know what we're dealing with!
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 30, 2014
  2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    She appears to have scaly leg mites and perhaps favus on her comb. A forum search on 'favus' will bring up several threads regarding treatment.

3. Suzie

Suzie Overrun With Chickens

Jul 9, 2009
    Auvergne
    That is one definate case of scaley leg mites...they can affect the comb also...put some vaseline of the comb too.

Thank goodness the chicken is now in safe hands...bless you and her!!!!

She is one lovely looking chicken too!

4. welasharon