Upper respiratory infection

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by happychics, Dec 11, 2014.

1. happychics

happychics Out Of The Brooder

Dec 11, 2014
    texas
    Gave hen and rooster penicillin shot, they are so sick with running nose, hens eyes swollen, I read fowl pox lowers immune system and can cause the repertory infection, my question is how often should I give the antibiotic shot? Also gave them warm bath in Epson salt and rx for resperatory. Half as prin for fever. Any advice appreciated as I am new at this and sure do not want to lose them.

2. pwand

pwand Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 10, 2007
    BC Canada
    Heres a good link about respirtory diseases.
    http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps044

You need to know how much antibiotic they require a day and if its needed once a day or more. It would be based on their weight. Becarefull with bathing them, I personallywouldn't bath them. I can't help with the dosing.

1 person likes this.
  3. happychics

Dec 11, 2014
    texas
    Thank you so much for the information, greatly helped. Thankfully rooster and hen are still breathing and seems like a little improvement this morning. Would you know if penicillin or LA 200 would be best to get them better? If LA 200 could they have a shot of that after having penicillin shot day before?

4. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio