Upside down air cells

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Mccool, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Mccool

Mccool New Egg

Feb 27, 2014
    Hi guys, my first hatch, today is day 18! Bator in lockdown. After candleing yesterday, I discovered 4 out of 6 have, what I assume is the aircell... at the small end of the egg!!! I see the chick moving, but the aircell seems to be at the wrong end. I have had them in an egg carton the entire 18 days, fat end up. What do I do? Lay them flat? Leave them alone?
    Thanks for your help

2. BooBoo45

BooBoo45 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 3, 2014
    Worcestershire, England
    I'm a newbie myself so I'm sure others will be able to help you more but I've replied as I started pretty much the same thread in ducks!

I wasn't good at judging what I was seeing when candling and was convinced the air sac was at the pointy end. It wasn't! The egg contains some fluid at the point egg until the chick / duckling has grown completely into the egg and I assumed it was the air sac. :he

I had one egg that had a lot more fluid in and sadly that was a no goer. One thing I noted was my good eggs all looked the same even though I couldn't make out movement at that point or the air sac. I had to accept that as I could see healthy veins that they were alive.

I found that the air sac was at the top by candling in a very dark room with the torch pointed down slightly but sidewards on. My ducklings are khaki Campbell's so they are dark and definition isn't easy to see.