Upside-down eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Time-Out, Jun 29, 2011.

1. Time-Out

Time-Out Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2011
    The Peak District, UK
    Today, I received 6 eggs in the post, 3 of which were packed upside down. Can anyone tell me whether this will affect the hatch in some way? Will they still be ok? I think one has also a loose air sack as, when I righted it, I felt something move inside, which I didn't in the others. I have read people's posts about this problem, so I'm considering moving all eggs into cartons for the duration of the incubation. It's tough to know what to do. I don't want to do the wrong thing and lose these little ones.
    As you can probably tell, it's my first time hatching eggs. I can't stop [​IMG] I'm so excited! [​IMG] I'm desperate to get this right...

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    You don't know if that package was shipped right side up or up side down, so the up side down ones may be the ones that were shipped correctly. That is a big reason you need to let them settle for about a day before you start.

Will that affect the hatch? Maybe, but you can't control that. Just do the best you can after you receive them and you will have done the best you can do.

Good luck!

3. Time-Out

Jun 29, 2011
    The Peak District, UK
    Thanks. I rang my OH to tell him, just after I posted this. These are his choice of breeds (sort of). He basically said the same thing as you. I'm reassured, in a way. I don't think I'll be 100% reassure until they're all eating and drinking!
    There's so much information out there, it's hard to know what to do and who to listen to. I imagine I'd probably have to try all methods before drawing my own conclusion. Thing is, we only want 2-3 hens, not 20-30!

4. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    Quote:[​IMG]