Urban Daisy Chicken coop (UPDATED 7/29/08 MORE PICS!)

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Anny, Jul 8, 2008.

1. Anny

Anny Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2008
    Detroit Michigan
    I thought I should make a thread of the time line of me building the coop.

We just started building a few weekends ago and have been slowly working on it.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    This is the very rough plan we are working from, although we already decided to not have the window there but on an exterior wall. We also decided to have a flat roof since it would be easier to build and since it's inside of the garage it doesn't matter.

I've never built anything before in my life. But my DBF has been slowly fixing up our old house (learning as he goes) and he has been helping me out ALOT.

[​IMG]

I was able to get a HUGE pile of 4ft 2x4's from a construction site so I thought I'd be making the coop 4ft by 4ft. But then I thought...I want it to be bigger. So I decided on 6ft by 4ft.

[​IMG]
    the view from my drive way

I like in the city...well kind of...I like in Detroit Michigan in a home in Corktown. Chickens are not Legal in Detroit. Although LOTS AND LOTS of people have them, hell a house on the other side of Corktown even has rooster and GOATS!

I decided I want about 4 laying hens. We decided that since our yard isn't that large, and to cut down on building costs we were going to build the coop inside of our garage, into a corner using the wall that were already there. With the run outside the garage in an area that is pretty sandy and hard to grow stuff on anyways.

[​IMG]
    This is the run location.

[​IMG]
    We cleaned out the corner of the garage for the coop. (of course this happened to also be the corner that before we just piled all our scrape wood and stuff so it took a while to clean out of the corner haha)

[​IMG]
    We build the floor of the coop 4 feet by 6 feet.