Urban farming can be fun

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by urbanchange90, Nov 11, 2013.

1. urbanchange90

urbanchange90 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2013
    Pacific Northwest
    Thanks for stopping by. First let me say hello. In the last few years I've been slowly making a change in the way I live and view the world. I started learning more about things I'd need to survive if something were to happen. At first I thought this was the way to go but I soon realized although its always good to be prepared, it's also better to just try and make the changes to prevent such things from happening. One way to do so is to start becoming more self reliant and by doing that I started a backyard vegetable garden. It was great and we ate like organic kings for a few months but I realized it wasn't enough. I didn't want to just be able to have good veggies and fruit in the summer, I wanted to also be able so enjoy those same things in the winter and spring so this year I will be expanding my garden again to up the production. I've also gone and convinced multiple people to do the same by helping them get started for free using what I've learned, no use charging for something I too learned for free. The next step naturally for me was chickens. So now I'm here and this spring will be getting four barred rock hens to be raised for eggs and to live out happy lives(I won't be using them for the meat since I plan on loving these girls)
    I'm very excited to hear all of your expirences and stories and meet some awesome people I'm sure to find here! Thanks for having me
    -urbanchange90

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome to BYC! Chickens and gardens are a great combination, feed one and fertilize the other. Good luck with your new flock in the spring.

3. Mr MKK FARMS

Mr MKK FARMS Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 27, 2012
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you joined us! [​IMG]