Urgent! considering taking in a pair of chicks, advice!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Kiwiheather, Aug 20, 2011.

1. Kiwiheather

Kiwiheather Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 20, 2011
    Hi I have a dog and two bunnies on an acre in the middle of suburbia in south Florida. My yard is not fenced and backs up onto 2 acres of woods. A kid where I work has a sister who was given 2 chicks for her bday (WHO DOES THAT). They live in an apartment and have NO yard. They are asking me to take them. I have NO experience and am very concerned about predators. My husband is adamant that I do not take them so he will be of no help. This kid says that they a a month old and they have had them in a laundry basket for a week. I am positive that they don't have proper feed. Please any advise is appreciated. I can not spend a ton of $ or risk divorce, lol! I have horses (not on my property) so I am not afraid of working with animals but I am completely in the dark here. I am allowed livestock where I live so that's not an issue.

2. Kiwiheather

Aug 20, 2011
    Oh and he said one is a girl and one is a boy... Not sure how true but dubious about that as well! Thanks!

3. BigDaddy'sGurl

BigDaddy'sGurl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2010
    Wilkesboro NC
    So long as your husband doesn't leave you over it, please rescue them, if for only long enough to find them a new home. The food they need can be bought in bags as small as 5 lbs for only 6.00 at Tractor supply, use pine shavings for bedding, and if you don't want to buy a waterer, use a shallow bowl with some small rocks to keep them from "swimming" or drowning in it. If they have any significant feathers yet they shouldn't need a heat light. Maybe if someone on here lives close enough they can give them a new home!

Oh, and : [​IMG]

4. Kiwiheather

Aug 20, 2011