URGENT! Duck was attacked, now lethargic!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ChaoticRogue14, Aug 28, 2014.

1. ChaoticRogue14

ChaoticRogue14 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 28, 2014
    I'm new to ducks and I'm not sure what to do.
    The night before last, my ducks Strut (rouen) and Jem (pekin) were attacked by something that got into their coop. They're both a bit over two months old and when I looked them over, I noticed Strut had injuries on the neck and Jem had an injury on the wing joint. I treated them both with polysporine and they made it through the night okay. When I lethink them out this morning, they went to their pond but Strut seemed to be lethargic and generally miserable. I tried giving them peas which is a favorite of theirs. Jem pigged out so I have no doubt in my mind that s/he is okay but Strut only picked at a few and I'm not sure s/he even ate those. I tried again with their duck feed and still nothing.
    I'm really worried about Strut and I don't know if this is normal post-attack behavior or if the wounds are infected or what.
    Please, someone help me!

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] So sorry to hear about your duck. I'll ask some of my duck owner friends to have a look at your post and advice. Would it be possible for you to take some pics of her wounds, so they can see what they're dealing with? Or just give as much details as possible.

Good luck!

Last edited: Aug 28, 2014
  3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Oh, mercy.

[​IMG]

If you can get them to a vet, that would be good.

In the meantime and in any case, if you can take a photo that may help us with ideas.

Neck injury - if something clamped its jaws on Strut's neck, that could have caused injury not only outside but inside. The esophagus - or whatever we call it on a duck - could be injured.