Urgent: Lethargic road island comb turning black

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Zephis, Jan 15, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Zephis

Zephis Hatching

Jan 15, 2019
    I'm new to this forum so bear with me but I need some expertise as I'm new to raising chickens. I have a beautiful road island red that's 9 months old. I noticed this morning while I started my daily routine tr hat this hen was very lethargic and was trembling slightly. There is no sign of injury although her come is starting to turn black. I noticed that she has very watery diarrhea which smells very bad and her craw is very large and tight more so than the others. Shes is not eating or drinking at the moment and is separate from the other 28 chickens. My chickens are kept very clean because I'm a neat freak and there straw bedding is changed every 3 days. They have constant access to fresh food and pellets. I started adding some vitamins to the water as recommended 2 weeks ago to give them a little extra perk as the weather is getting colder. Can anyone offer any advise?

2. Cragg Klefor

Cragg Klefor Crowing

Apr 14, 2017
    County Kilkenny, Ireland
    Hi Zephis and welcome :frow
    Sorry to hear you are joining under such circumstances. I am no expert I'm afraid but there are amazing people here whom I am sure will be able to offer a lot more than I can.
    Comb turning black normally means there is a lack of oxygen which, although narrowing it down somewhat, does not tell you what is actually wrong.
    When you say craw, are you speaking about her crop?
    I would bring her inside somewhere warm if you have not already and hopefully someone here will be able to help you out soon.

Photos will often help people here see what you are dealing with, of both the chicken and her poop.