URGENT two quails blinded in 24 hours.

rosesroost

Hatching
7 Years
Dec 10, 2012
Cornwall uk
Hello my cortinux quail are now 2 1/2 months old. We moved them outside at 1 1/2... I live in cornwall uk s temperature is mild but damp. I keep wellsummer chickens, and quail only. I am new to Quail. Since being outside the Q had all stopped laying, but 3 weeks later (wich brings us to yesterday) I went up to find one bird bleeding from both eyes, in their drinker, it couldn't move. tHey have a heat lamp to keep them snug and laying, and have a 3 by 3ft run as well as a 2 by 2ft bedroom. I bought it in straight away, put it in a clean indoor run, and bathed its eyes every four ours with cooled sterilised water. This morning it started eating and seemed quite perky, then this Afternoon it opened one eye that I had thought had completely gone. Then this evening I went up to check and another little girl had had one of her eyes pecked Apart, I now have her in a seperate basket inside. She has one completely good eye but the other I am bathing the same way, I keep 6 all together, one of which is a cock, what am I doing wrong? And how can I stop it?a nd can these victims have a happy life even if kept seperate and as pets? Xxx

It is one of the other quail that is doing this I would get rid of the mean quail asap and its not always the cock but females can be super mean to other females. You can keep them as pets if you want.

From what you are saying, you are not doing "anything wrong". You won't be able to sit there and watch to see which one is the "meanie", but one thing you could do is get a video camera set to record your quail pen. To determine which one is which, you can get several color markers and color some small zip ties. Put a different color Zip tie on one leg of each bird. Set your video to record, then after an hour, review the video to see which one needs to fill the freezer.

I hope this helps.