1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Used and abused -- I learned my lesson (a little long)

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by OlliOlliOlli, May 17, 2009.

1. OlliOlliOlli

OlliOlliOlli Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2009
    I am a HS teacher by day and an aspiring professional photographer by whenever other time. [​IMG] I did a family friend's niece's prom pictures 2 years in a row for free. I did everything from the shooting to the editing. She loved them, the family loved them, etc. They look as good as anything you would pay several hundred dollars for.

Next I hear, "Oh, can you do her senior pictures?" A slight flip-flop of "ugh" in the stomach, I cheerfully agree because hey, it's experience!

Keep in mind graduation is on June 4. She waited until late April/early May to hit me with "Hi I need my senior pictures." I then came down with the flu, and on a separate incident was hospitalized for a head injury and banned from driving. She nags periodically about when it's going to be done, but I brush her off...

Last Sunday, yes, 7 days ago, I finally got down there, drove the 55 miles each way, and did a 3 HOUR photoshoot for her and her "best friend." I took over 150 pictures.

I warn them repeatedly that the post-processing and editing photos could take days, even weeks, and that a professional photographer could take up to 4 weeks. I promised her by today, ONE WEEK LATER, that they would all be totally done.

On Monday night into Tuesday, I start getting pelted with "Where are my pictures?" "Are WE getting anywhere on these pictures?" Texts, IMs...FACEBOOK WALL POSTS!!!! (Rude?!?!) The last straw is when texts start dropping in my box at 8am on a school day.