1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

used bricks as a floor for ground level coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by ima57boomer, Jun 18, 2011.

1. ima57boomer

ima57boomer Out Of The Brooder

Mar 23, 2011
    Just wondering if anyone has ever done this. I have a large supply of used bricks, and rather than pouring a concrete floor, which I am not going to do, I thought maybe I would build the coop (or rather 8 x 8 shed), then lay a layer of used bricks on the floor. The roost, nest boxes, etc. would either be free-standing or attached to the side walls somehow. We live on a farm and have untold number of odds and ends of building materials scattered around between sheds, barns, etc. I'm new to chickens, and I thought a shed might be good, since if something happens to the birds, or life's circumstances change (DH and I are 60-ish), the shed could then be used for storage. Of course if I used the bricks, I would put a generous layer of pine shavings or clean straw over it. Any thoughts? btw...I plan on having an attached run.

2. ima57boomer

ima57boomer Out Of The Brooder

Mar 23, 2011
    I think I should have done a search before I posted this. I've talked myself out of using them. I think just the ground would make more sense, if indeed the 8 x 8 is what I go with. I have ten birds.

3. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    You would need to lay them as if laying a paver patio -- level the ground beneath them, then put in a good thickness of screenings (making sure that finished height, with bricks, will be slightly ABOVE surrounding ground level, especially important in a coop) and tamp the dampened screenings very hard to extreme levelness, then lay the bricks.