Using a desk shelf topper in coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by LolaMama, Jun 15, 2019.

1. LolaMama

LolaMama In the Brooder

May 12, 2019
    Chapin, South Carolina
    So I have this unused heavy shelving unit that is supposed to screw into the top of a desk that is the exact dimensions of my coop interior. If I use it, I’ll definitely put several coats of cleanable paint on it. As I’m new to coop building, would this be a fun addition in your opinion or too much competition for the higher space? I have a 4 hen max size so I was thinking two roost bars in the wide spaces and nest boxes in the smaller ones on the right side? Or should I just go with a “regularly spaced” coop? I was planning a cabinet-style coop with the front being full double doors to clean. It’s in an enclosed run. Thoughts?
    CB021A2A-4A49-4892-8644-1C79C6D754C0.jpeg

Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  2. Acre4Me

Acre4Me Crowing

Nov 12, 2017
    Western Ohio
    You might be able to use it, however you won’t want to stack to roost bars one above the other. The chickens will try to cram in the highest space, and if one is below, it will get pooped on.

The nest boxes should be lower than the roosts by at least a foot.

Maybe this could sit on the floor and be used as nest boxes, then the roosts could be above, and you could have a poop tray under the roosts. The birds will be higher than the nest boxes, and might fit all 4 birds across the top on one roost bar.

LolaMama likes this.
  3. aart

aart Chicken Juggler!

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Post dimensions and pics of your coop?
    Might be better off taking apart shelves and using wood.

LolaMama likes this.
  4. LolaMama

LolaMama In the Brooder

May 12, 2019
    Chapin, South Carolina