Using a plastic dog create

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Guisso14, Sep 23, 2018.

1. Guisso14

Guisso14 In the Brooder

Sep 23, 2018
    Hello,

I am new to raising chickens and figured I'd give it a try. Currently I have for chicks in a haft plastic dog crate but they're at the point now where they're about to be able to fly out of it. I keep them in a room with a space heater so that the room is at a constant temperature with a light on during the day would it be okay to put the top on the dog crate with the door and they should still get an adequate amount of light? I'm not concerned about the heat as the space heater is really good at keeping a constant temperature

2. Melky

Melky Crowing

Jul 23, 2018
    Edgewood, KY
    My Coop
    How old are the chicks? Can you provide picture of what you are talking about?

3. Guisso14

Guisso14 In the Brooder

Sep 23, 2018
    This is what I'm keeping them in. They are big enough now that when they flap their wings they're almost able to fly out of it. You can barely see the base of the space heater which is keeping the room at a constant temperature is at the top. I'm estimating there at least two to three weeks old. My wife pick them up at the store and I wasn't able to ask how old they already were

Attached Files:

4. Rick M

Rick M Songster

Jun 21, 2018
    Southwest Missouri
    Hello and welcome to BYC:frow

5. Guisso14

Guisso14 In the Brooder

Sep 23, 2018
    I forgot a picture of the chicks from yesterday

Attached Files:

6. Rick M

Rick M Songster

Jun 21, 2018
    Southwest Missouri