Vaccinating?and extra chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by briana1975, Feb 25, 2009.

1. briana1975

briana1975 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2009
    Carleton Mi.
    I just ordered from Ideal. I only ordered 12. Everything I have read so far has recomended vaccinating, so I checked yes on the Merecks vaccine. But Ideal doesn't recomend it for small flocks. Should I e-mail them and say I changed my mind on the vaccinations? Also after I placed my order I read how they only ship out 1/4 size boxes and that equals 25 chicks and they add extra chicks to make up differance. Does this mean I will get 13 extra roosters, and do the vaccinate the extras too? I am brand new to this. I just don't know.

2. mdfishinggirl

mdfishinggirl Out Of The Brooder

Jan 31, 2009
    I am new too, but I am suppose to get my chicks tomorrow from Ideal. I ordered 9, paid the extra insurance to have no roosters packed in with them. I was told that if I order 9, I will get 9 if I request NO extras and pay the insurance. You have me worried with that whole 1/4 box thing!!
    As far as vaccinations, I also checked no as they recommend that. I was told by someone who has a small flock nearby that you don't need to worry about that with so few. Who knows. I will let you know tomorrow what actually comes in my Ideal order [​IMG]

3. SundownWaterfowl

SundownWaterfowl Overrun With Chickens

Im guessing that they would send 13 extra roosters, and they would not be vaccinated. I would call them up and cancel the vaccines.

4. mdfishinggirl

Jan 31, 2009
    I called today to see if they shipped my chicks. They said they only sent the 9 I ordered since I paid the extra $1.95 insurance. I did not have my vaccinated, but will use medicated starter feed. Good luck, give them a call. They are really nice people!

5. Bullwinkle

Bullwinkle Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2008
    Nebraska