vaccinating my chickies

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by inkypinky, May 13, 2010.

1. inkypinky

inkypinky Out Of The Brooder

Apr 16, 2010
    Auburndale
    I've never given a chicken a shot before. ....Ive done the horses of course and goats, dogs, cats even ppl ( Im a tattoo artist and piercer too ( one would think I have a thing for needles or something lol [​IMG] ) Ive been reading the forums here while I gather my breeding stock of BCM and my EEs for our own eggs etc and I've come to the conclusion( i think) that I need to vaccinate against yucky stuff- which vaccines are a definate and which or all are contraversial.......company for vaccines? Best prices? Or do some get from vets? I dont trust the fridge at my local feed store so much- so I'd stay away from what they have..eew...so many questions....[​IMG]

2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    I always vaccinate my chickens for Marek's. It's just not worth the risk not to do it. Here are a few useful websites that discuss the disease and the "how tos" of vaccinating (First State tells you how to use 1/4 of the vaccine at a time so as to economize if you only are vaccinating a few birds).

http://www.firststatevetsupply.com/poultry-health/mareks-disease.html
    http://poultryone.com/articles/mareks.html

You can buy it different places, I've bought it through First State Vet Supply, but the shipping and packaging costs a fortune (around $50 total). I have bought it through Twin City Poultry Supply for about $25 and I have read that Randall Burkey is a place to buy it reasonably priced.

Whether to vaccinate for any disease is totally a personal preference and it's a good idea to keep reading up on it and researching until you develop your own opinions on the issue.

3. Chickenmaven

Chickenmaven Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 6, 2009
    Michigan
    I just read the first link. Very interesting.