variations on the greener pastures recipe

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by joeymomrn, Aug 16, 2010.

1. joeymomrn

joeymomrn Out Of The Brooder

Aug 16, 2010
    Hi all, newbie here, first post even. [​IMG] We have 8 EE's and have been feeding them this recipe http://www.greenerpasturesfarm.com/ChickStarterRecipe.html (it's the #3 one). Anyways, I like it and all and the girls seem to be doing fine and growing well. They are 6 weeks old or so. I am wondering if anyone has used this recipe but maybe tweeked it a bit. I would like something simplier. I think all the grains are great but I'm not sure they're all necessary, even as the lady says on the site, just make sure they get enough protein. I am thinking of doing maybe just the wheat berries, oat groats, corn, kelp and some flax, oh and I may keep in the legumes as they're a good protein source. The recipe for when the hens are full grown contains even 3 more grains and they are pricier too. Has anyone else made a feed like this before? Thanks!

2. Organics North

Organics North Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2009
    Wisconsin Northwoods
    Hi,
    I make my own feed. I feel more grain diversity is better. I think that is the general consensus of those that make their own feed.

Here is what I feed. All organic except the Black Oil Sunflower Seed. I buy in bulk and my cost is around $16 per 50lbs.

ON
    Oh yes welcome to BYC! [​IMG]
    --------

6 part Black Oil Sunflower (17%P)
    6 part Oats (12%P)
    6 parts Red Wheat (17%P)

3 part Field Peas (24%P)
    3 part cracked Corn (9%P)
    3 part whole Flax (34%P)
    3 part Alfalfa (17%P)

.5 part Kelp
    .125 Oyster shell
    .125 DE
    .125 Azomite

Notes:
    For daily mash first 3 ingredients are mixed and sprouted. Last 8 ingredients are mixed and wetted for mash prior to mixing in with sprouts.

Proper ratio is as follows for daily serving..: 2 parts sprouts to 1 part mash.

Above mix has ::: PROTIEN= 17% unsprouted