Varied temps shipping to incubator

Sherol

Songster
Apr 7, 2015
San Antonio Tx
I ordered some hatching eggs and put them in a cool place overnight to settle when I got them. Now they are in the incubator. It has been in the 90's here in Texas and I am wondering if during shipping the warm weather started them developing and then the overnight in a cool area may have messed them up. Should I still be ok if the got warm then cool then in the incubator.

Hi Sherol,
frow.gif

I'm no expert, incubating my first batch right now....not new to chickens though, I've just used a broody in the past. - I think your eggs probably aren't going to be impacted too much, if any. How far did they travel to reach you? I'm sure the temps varied enough over the time and distance, to keep them from starting....

You should let the eggs come up to room temp prior to popping them in the bator.... don't want to shock them....

I'm from the Fort Worth area, originally, miss home terribly!
hmm.png
- Love San Antonio! As teens we used to drive down on the weekends....those were the days
smile.png

Happy Hatching!
jumpy.gif

I ordered some hatching eggs and put them in a cool place overnight to settle when I got them. Now they are in the incubator. It has been in the 90's here in Texas and I am wondering if during shipping the warm weather started them developing and then the overnight in a cool area may have messed them up. Should I still be ok if the got warm then cool then in the incubator.
If you candled before setting and there was no visible development, you should be fine. There have actually been studies done with preincubating eggs (I think for 1-3 days) and then suspending incubation process. It is best though to let them rest and come to room temp before adding them to the bator as n8ivetxn said.

Hi Sherol,
frow.gif