Vegas, Baby!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by VegasDobermanns, Sep 3, 2014.

1. VegasDobermanns

VegasDobermanns Just Hatched

Aug 31, 2014
    Hiya,

I'm new here, and located in Vegas. Many decades ago, I used to have a large flock of ladies and a couple of roosters, but that was when we lived in CA. Now that we are in the desert and suburbia, I don't have any - yet. But I want to raise them again and duckies, too. Maybe even rabbits, but I don't want to raise the rabbits in cages, so I am still studying and learning better ways for that.

My coup was large and had about 12 nesting boxes above ground. Had several really good brooders. I had reds and barred rock and whatever the neighbors didn't want anymore. The floor was hay on dirt (the land) and I really don't remember ever having a big mess that needed cleaning. We just would rake it out when it started to smell and replace the hay. The birds had a huge covered run (turkey vultures loved to roost right above them) that I would section off and water different sections to grow grass for them, too. So they had their grain, fresh lawn clippings that we always spread out so they would not heat up and their pasture areas.

When the garden got bugs, I would pick a chicken from the coup, tie a string to its leg and stake a few in the garden for them to catch all the bugs. They used to fight to be in the front so I would pick them. LOL. The veggie garden was on the other side of the property, and these chickens were not the friendliest bunch cause I didn't spend a lot of time with them. Just like Soap on a Rope, I had Chicken on a Rope. They loved it.

I had so many eggs every day that I used to give them away all the time to the local food bank. We were giving eggs to the dogs, a dozen eggs a day each to the horses when they were shedding, eggs everywhere! This was before the whole "organic" and "grow your own" popularity started.