Veggie gardening

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by catherine26, Feb 15, 2017.

1. catherine26

catherine26 New Egg

Feb 14, 2017
    Hi, gardeners, it is so nice that I found a forum for discussing gardening. I have a plan to start gardening lettuce and celery in my backyard. I was searching some tips as a beginner to vegetable gardening. . I saw somewhere that lettuce require partial shade and saw on another site that it requires the full sun. What is the ideal climate for growing them? What should I do to prevent any fungus activity on the plant? Also, is it possible to protect the seedlings from pests without using any pesticides, as I need it to be complete organic? I would like to get suggestions on this as I am a novice here.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2017
  2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    You might consider joining us on the sister gardening thread. It’s run by the same people as this forum but the format is different. At least lurk for a while and see if you think you want to join us. It’s kind of an off time for us so we are not always talking about gardening, but we can focus on gardening. It’s a fairly small forum, really friendly and welcoming, but many of us have known each other for a long time so don’t be surprised if we have fun with each other. I don’t know where you are located but you might find a neighbor.

https://www.theeasygarden.com/

All gardening is local. What you can grow or even how and when you grow it will depend a lot on your climate. I tried celery several years ago and was pretty unsuccessful. Some of that may have been that I didn’t know what I was doing and part might have been climate. I’m trying celeriac (celery root) this year for the first time. I’ll see how that goes.