Veins attached?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Sterkfarm, Aug 27, 2013.

1. Sterkfarm

Sterkfarm Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2013
    Milton, ON
    Hi guys, newbie q. Here goes: this is my first time incubating and I'm on day 7 today. What I can't find info on is whether or not the vein 'spiderweb' that forms, it it supposed to be attached (I.e. 'fixed') to the shell? If I give the eggs a gentle turn over the candler I can see the embryos floating around but the veins are not budging....is this correct or did I not turn enough and now they're stuck?? I am turning three times a day. Also a side note, some are further developed it seems. How is this possible? They are all the same breed and were set at the same time but collected over a week. If that corollary q needs a separate thread that's cool too.
    So the veins....fixed - good or bad?

2. Lynnae4913

Lynnae4913 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 19, 2013
    High Springs, Fl.
    Far from being an expert on this subject, I will say that I believe what you observed is normal. I have just candled eggs for the first time in my life last night and the veins did not move in mine either. The babies were certainly active! If I remember what I have read correctly, there is an inner membrane which is where those blood veins are. I'm sure someone else will jump in here soon and give you some assurance. [​IMG]

3. Sterkfarm

Sterkfarm Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2013
    Milton, ON