Vent gleet in 3 week old? Photos included

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by SearchDog13, Jun 17, 2016.

1. SearchDog13

SearchDog13 New Egg

May 21, 2016
    NC
    2 days ago my latest addition a 3 wk old Buff came up with a swollen vent, matted down and stinky discharge. I'm really really new to this. I have her separated and I have cleaned her up every day since it started. I've also been putting anti fungal cream on her. She is still eating and pooping. But it seems like pooping is very painful for her. How long does it take for the swelling to go down? Could she have prolapsed from this? Any tips would be great, I want her to heal. [​IMG][/IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 17, 2016
  2. SearchDog13

SearchDog13 New Egg

May 21, 2016
    NC
    Bump

3. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains
    It looks like it could possibly be a prolapse.
    Is the white the anti-fungal cream?
    What foods/treats are you giving?

The swelling does look a bit painful, for that you can apply honey or hemorrhoid cream. Provide her with some poultry vitamins and probiotics (plain yogurt is good).
    If she is eating anything besides chick starter, provide some chick grit. It may be best until the problem clears to give her wet chick starter (mix starter with a little water to make a paste like oatmeal). Encourage drinking if she doesn't drink a lot.

Prolapse:
    http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/04/prolapse-vent-causes-treatment-graphic.html

Vent Gleet:
    http://www.tillysnest.com/2012/12/vent-gleet-prevention-and-treatment-html/
    http://www.fresheggsdaily.com/2013/09/vent-gleet-symptoms-causes-and-natural.html

Last edited: Jun 18, 2016
    1 person likes this.
  4. SearchDog13

SearchDog13 New Egg

May 21, 2016
    NC
    The white is discharge. she is eating chick starter. I will make her a little paste. How do encourage her to drink? I'm nervous aboutusing a syringe.