1. valegal74

valegal74 In the Brooder

May 31, 2018
    Hi everyone - my barred rock (about 10 months old) has been a little quieter these days and not eating as much, mostly standing (not sitting) on a perch in the run. Initially I thought it was because it we're going through a cold snap, but today upon inspection, noticed she actually has a vent prolapse. :( I only figured this out via Google, so I'm a total newbie.

I've been reading about giving them a warm bath, etc but given that it is so cold outside (-10C/14F), do I bring her inside instead? I'm just not sure that the sudden temperature change is necessarily a good thing. I did use some warm water on some paper towels and tried to press it back in, and it did seem to shrink in a bit. Any other suggestions? She has been laying eggs about every other day, even in this cold weather. The last time she laid an egg was on Friday.

staceyj likes this.
  2. staceyj

staceyj Enabler

Jan 1, 2017
    Coastal NC
    My Coop
    It would be best if you could post a good photo so people can help you with suggestions.

Prolapses are serious but can really run the gamut as far as degrees of protrusion.
    Regardless of the weather, She needs to come inside for at least a day or two.

Dog crate, box, laundry basket ...in a warm, semi dark, quiet place.

If you don’t and she has flock mates, the risk of a horrible pecking injury or even canablization is very likely.
    You’ll need to:
    First, with lubricant on your finger, do an internal check to see if she’s eggbound.

Give her a nice warm soak with a fistful of Epsom salts if you have it.

Give her a dose of human oral calcium like caltrate if you have it, or Tums If you don’t. You can smash them up and add it to yogert, scrambled eggs etc.