1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

ventilation and insulation noobie questions

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by snakecharmer, Mar 3, 2009.

1. snakecharmer

snakecharmer Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2009
    Kansas City, KS
    I am totally new to this so i want to make sure I build our coop for happy birds. I have read quite a bit on ventilation but am still a little confused by the balance between ventilation vs. draft free. I also am not finding too much on insulation.

Our coop is going to be 4' x6' outside dimension with 4' high 2x4 studded walls. the outside sheeting will either be plywood or that fiberboard siding stuff, whatever I can get cheaper. This is basically the design I am going with http://www.horizonstructures.com/coop.asp but I think I will go with a gabled roof with a 2' rise. I will have one large vent on the back wall above the roost bars just like that one has and windows in the front for summer but it is winter ventilation I am worries about. I figure I can put a couple of vents up high to keep any cros draft from blowing directly on the chickens. I was thinking about either a pair of regular plastic attic vents on the roof or a vent on each end wall near the roof peak. My concern is loosing too much heat since it will rise and go out the vents. So what would be best here and would either of these work well?