Ventilation/ Big enough coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Quailbuddy, Aug 13, 2010.

1. Quailbuddy

Quailbuddy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2010
    Sonoma County CA
    Hi ya'll I have a question:
    okay so I was wondering if 4ft by 4ft coop with a 5ft high coop is large enough for 6 chickens . . . They will have the WHOLE backyard to themselves but will be locked in the run at night time and let out early the next morning. I am new to chickens ( or going to be new) so any advice would help [​IMG]

Also how much is too much ventilation? I have a ( 4) small 4 inch by 6inch rectangle vents that i would like to use as well as a window for the coop. If I put the vents in the middle of each wall on the top near the roof would that be to much?
    EDIT: I have 5 by 3 ft window that I could use ( if i use it i will make my coop bigger [​IMG] ) but it had solid glass . . . i know that wouldnt help with ventilation but as far as sunlight goes would that be good to use? They will be in the backyard and free ranging from dusk till dawn but would they like the window?

Thank you
    QuailBuddy:)

Last edited: Aug 13, 2010
  2. midd2005

midd2005 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2010
    Oahu
    the rule of thumb for coops is 4 sq ft per chicken so youll be a bit under that; however, if they have lots of daytime roaming space, you'll maybe be ok. how much roost space do you have though?

and guess what!? there is a rule of thumb for ventilation too. it's 1 sq ft per chicken. so the question is not "is that too much ventilation?" the weather doesn't get too cold in your neck of the woods so i might consider a decent sized window as well as your vents. or something else?

3. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens