ventilation holes and fan?

Chickenfarmer 1-2-b

Songster
10 Years
Oct 28, 2009
I am completely new to this incubating thing. Read so many different sources b/c I am so "picky", LOL. About to finish my homemade incubator. Two questions remain:
1. How many holes do I have to make for proper/adequate ventilation? What size?
2. Do I face the fan blowing air over/toward the eggs or backward against the wall (I hang the computer fan over the hardcloth wire 2 inches from the wall). I ask this question b/c there is someone mentioned there is some issues of over drying the eggs if too much air moving over the eggs. This makes sense since I cant picture mother hens would be blowing over her eggs, LOL. I really appreciate any comments.

Not sure I can be of much help but I would have the fan moving air out of the incubator with outside air being drawn in through your ventilation holes.Try to have the air exchange away from ware your eggs are located in the incubator. Good luck
smile.png

I have almost the same question. Do I need to have the holes open? My bator has 3 holes, 2 on top, one on side. I just got my temp and humidity where I want it, but no holes are open. Eggs are due in tomorrow, so should i open any holes and readjust?

Eggs need ventilation because that is how they get the oxygen they need. Open atleast two of those holes. You still have time to get the humidity balanced before putting the eggs in.

Place the fan so it blows across your heat source.