ventilation issue, please help? New pics on #15 Thank you!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by stcroixusvi, Jun 9, 2011.

1. stcroixusvi

stcroixusvi Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2011
    Western NC
    My Coop
    We are midway through finishing the coop and having a discussion about how many of the windows should open. I want one on each side to open. My husband says two windows total are enough. The window size is huge - 27" x 32", will have 1" hardware cloth, and the coop size is 7 x 7 without the nesting boxes - 7 x 10 with nesting boxes. We are at 3500 ft elevation so extreme heat is rarely an issue, and as you can see, the coop is nested in some trees. The 10 x 30 ft run will go back into the woods. Chick(en)s will free range when possible.

What do you think?

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 11, 2011
  2. True Grit

True Grit Chillin' With My Peeps

It's a stunning coop! I'm no expert but I personally would probably lobby for 3 but 2 may well be sufficient if your highest temp is 80ish.

3. Patricia Jane

Patricia Jane Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 28, 2010
    Petaluma CA
    I would think 2 if it has cross breeze. But that's just my humble opinion. Very nice coop.[​IMG]

4. stcroixusvi

stcroixusvi Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2011
    Western NC
    My Coop
    Thanks - I am hoping to convince my husband today that 4 windows need to open, 1 on each side.

5. duckinnut

duckinnut Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2010
    Marshfield, Ma.