Vera or Victor- Silkie help please!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by aardi, Jul 17, 2010.

1. aardi

aardi Out Of The Brooder

Jul 16, 2010
    [​IMG] Howdy Peeps!
    New to the BYC and just stated our flock. The DP and I have 6 to start (granted that also our limit…) Got our little babies the first week in April so they are what… 15 wks (SLW, BSL, BO, EE, Polish and a Silkie). We built a coop, 8x8 inside run, 3x6 hen house and extended side run 8x12 (side run only for day use) and they get back yard time as well (2-6 hours depending on weekdays vs weekends).
    Our littlest hen Vera (Silkie) has us wondering if she is really a she. We’re in hopes of some help. Here are some pic(s) the coop and of Vera, so peep, what say you? Vera or Victor?
    Thanks!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. PippyChicken

PippyChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2009
    AL
    [​IMG] I love your coop!! I'm no expert on silkies but looks like a Victor to me.. [​IMG]

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    I'm afraid I vote Victor also. Your coop is gorgeous!! Are you allowed to keep a roo??

4. reesepoultry

reesepoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 4, 2009
    Thats definately a Victor (rooster).

Already has the comb starting and the streamers.

5. aardi

aardi Out Of The Brooder

Jul 16, 2010
    Thanks! We saw a coop on BYC and just fell in love with it, we had to “tweak” the designs to make it work, but it was a lot of fun to build and the chick-chicks seem to really love it.
    As for if Vera turns out to be Victor, we’ll get by… Technically we not allowed a roo, but we are close to the airport, so everyone in our hood has double or triple pane windows so no real concern about noise complaints, after all, what’s a roo compared to a 747 flying right over several times a day?