VERY disappointed in buildingachickencoop.com

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by nursemeh, Apr 21, 2009.

1. nursemeh

nursemeh Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2009
    Conroe, Texas
    Yesterday I put the $29.95 on my debit card and hit the download button! I was so excited! After reviewing the pdfs with the coop plans and scanty instructions I realized that I was no better off than I was before I was out that $30! It does NOT give what the ads promise: "detailed intructions for total beginners"

Now I see the Caatawba converticoop plan is $19.95! It looks like a great starter coop and perhaps if it actually comes with some decent instructions perhaps that would be money well spent.

Can anyone here recommend any other coop blueprint that is totally for beginner's that are really not great at building things?

And no I don't want to spend $350 on a kit!!!!

thanks!

2. Leah-yes I know I'm crazy

Leah-yes I know I'm crazy Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2008
    Skidway Lake, MI
    I don't think that everyone here would necessarily reccomend buying a blue print. Can you define the type of coop you want that will meet your needs for your climate and maybe some people here can point you the right dirrection. Keep in mind also that some of the smaller lumber yards have people to help you get exactly what you need in one trip. We have one around here that will give you a gas card if you have to go back for something they missed.
    Edited to add: I just looked at that. Those angles are difficult for a beginner. Either stick with right angles or print out your plans and take them to the store with you if that is what you have your heart set on. Go early in the day on Mon - Thur when workers there will have more time to help you. Good luck!

Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  3. lurky

lurky Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2007
    Western MA