Very Late Eggs???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chickenlady233, Feb 14, 2013.

1. chickenlady233

chickenlady233 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 3, 2013
    Hello Everyone,

My Chicks Were due Last Monday, One Hatched a day early, on Sunday. Now It Is Thursday. When The One hatched early, I immediately opened the incubator and put the wet chick in the brooder. Now I have anothher batch of chicks due to hatch this saturday. Should i throw the eggs out? This is my first time hatching but I have had some experience before with unseccussful hatches. I Have done everything correct, or so i think. i keep the temp 99.5 and the humidity up to 50% first 18 days, increase to 70% last three days. I dont Know what i should do, are they duds? I really appreciate your help![​IMG]
    -Valerie

2. Makomd

Makomd Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 24, 2011
    ES of MD , USA
    If one hatched and it was put in the same time as the other eggs I would say they are likely duds, but I would candle anyway just to be sure.

3. chickenlady233

Feb 3, 2013
    I Candle them a lot, I can clearly see that the embryos have been growing, they are all opaque. they don't let any light in at all. I Cracked one open, sadly, only to find a fully developed chick curled up in a pile of yolk. [​IMG]

Happy Valentines Day!![​IMG]

4. Sally Sunshine

Sally Sunshine Cattywampus Angel <straightens Halo> Premium Member

Aug 23, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    My Coop
    so sorry to hear this. Have you calibrated thermometers an hygros? also you may wish to try dry hatch methods please refer to my notes https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/hatching-eggs-101

also if your hatch is over day 21 you can read info here on how to check for viability https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/step-by-step-guide-to-assisted-hatching