Very lethargic chicken-advice please!?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by happychic, Sep 22, 2010.

1. happychic

happychic Out Of The Brooder

Sep 14, 2010
    Tennessee
    Hi, I'm new to BackYard Chickens, and I really appreciate any help/advice. My black sexlink (hen) is very lethargic today. I noticed she seemed not quite right yesterday. And now her eyes keep closing, even when she's standing up. I don't know of any wounds she would have. She also felt really light when I picked her up this morning. When I fed them some carrot/celery scrap treats earlier she showed some interest and pecked for a minute or two and gave up. I think she has runny poo. Her bedding is shavings. I'd like to treat her at home. What should I do? Thank you

2. Morgan7782

Morgan7782 Dense Egg Goo

Mar 22, 2010
    Sacramento CA
    Is she sneezing or coughing? I had an Easter Egger who had a period of time where she was the same, no other signs but lathargic. The one thing I would suggest is vitamin/electrolyte mix in water. That's a safe place to start. When my girl was sick she wouldn't drink water, but she was so lathargic I would gently press her beak into the water and she finally drank with me helping. There is poultry vitamin mix, like pedialyte for chickens, if you have any I would put a little in water.

3. happychic

Sep 14, 2010
    Tennessee
    Thank you, I may have to force her to drink because I don't think she has had any water all day. She hasn't been wheezing or sneezing and her nose/beak area is dry. She's been molting, but the top of her head is almost bald. Is this normal? Thanks for the advice.

4. happychic

Sep 14, 2010
    Tennessee