Very small hatch and need a substitute for chick starter and vitamins?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by tmb3fan, Feb 11, 2009.

1. tmb3fan

tmb3fan Out Of The Brooder

Jul 24, 2008
    Central Mississippi
    I have 6 eggs in the bator on day 18. I have no idea how many will hatch since this is my first time. Not wanting to buy 25# of chick starter and end up with no chicks, I was wondering if anyone has made a substitute feed for a day or two before buying some chick starter? Also, what did you use for vitamins?

I was thinking of processing some rolled oats and cracked corn into a small size they can eat, you know smaller than the crumbles. Also, provide some yogurt and scrambled egg. Has anyone used a mixture like this for hatchlings?

Thanks,
    Teri

2. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

A couple of our local feed stores sell it by the pound. Also our Orschelns this time of year has small bags (5 lbs. I think) of chick starter available.

Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  3. sara

sara Title Needed Here

I think Jefferslivestock.com sells some 5 lb. bags as well.

4. tmb3fan

Jul 24, 2008
    Central Mississippi
    Our feed stores don't sell anything under 25# bags.

5. sara

sara Title Needed Here

Mine doesn't either, but there are online sources. I wouldn't want to try feeding them anything other than chick starter.

6. tmb3fan

Jul 24, 2008
    Central Mississippi
    Well I found the answer to my question at another website so I won't post the link. But here is the info in case anyone else has the same question.