Viability of Salatin's Book Today?

babalubird

Songster
11 Years
Jul 21, 2008
I plan to buy several of Salatin's books, "You Want to Farm" and "Pastured Poultry Profits," mainly because they got such raving reviews on Amazon.com.

However, one review on the second book was that he did not cover modern-day marketing, most notably, use of the internet. And I did notice most of the raving reviews were about 6-7 years old.

Do any of you use his book(s) as your Bible? Is his formula and results still do-able today?

We are TOTAL beginners, but do already have 16 acres we plan to move to.

Your honest input appreciated. We want to make money, not lose it. In fact, we are too close to retirement to risk losing it.

Thanks.

Connie

I have the book and bought it 9 years ago and that's what got me started. It's a great start and he makes a lot of great points.

It was my chicken "bible" until I learned the ropes and developed my own standards as you will too. You will come to find out what works for him in Virginia may not work for you in your state. I learned this quickly. As your right, there is little attention given to the fact of marketing. He strictly believes in word of mouth, which to a point, I do too.

But you need more of a direct marketing set up in most areas. You should have a website.... not a real big problem but in today's market it helps a lot. Send out flyers and tell everyone about what your doing to whose interested.

To answer your question.......The book holds it value in gold as far as I'm concerned. Like stated before you will find some of his techniques to work.... and some not so well.... But regaurdless you will get a ton of information and won't be disappointed!

I'd say buy it if your going to pasture raise your chickens.

Last edited:
My take on it:

1) The books are relevant.