Vicks Vapor Rub

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Deannep36, May 12, 2009.

1. Deannep36

Deannep36 Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2009
    HI all, I'm new here as of today. I'm also new to raising chickens.
    I have 24 chickens that are 7 wks old, and we put them outside a few days ago.
    Yesterday, I went out to feed them and found 3 that were wounded from other chickens pecking at them.
    We brought them back in the house and they are healing.
    My question is, I was doing some research last night and read somewhere that if you pick vicks on the chickens that are being pecked at, the peckers will stop. Does this work? if so can you put it on the wound?
    Thanks for the help
    Deanne

2. ArizonaNessa

ArizonaNessa Joyfully Addicted

Apr 7, 2009
    Texas
    It works well for me. I put a big glop on the wound and put the bird back. The pecking bird will get a taste and stop it. I have seen people on here say it does not work but I swear by it.

3. DancesWithChickens

DancesWithChickens Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2009
    Rossville, Ga
    I sure didn't know this, but it doesn't taste good so i guess this would work. Dang, i learn something new everyday.

pam [​IMG]

4. Deannep36

May 12, 2009
    Thank you so much. I'm going to get me some today and try it
    I'm so glad I found this place. I have learned so much from all of the posts on here
    Deanne

1 person likes this.
  5. ArizonaNessa

ArizonaNessa Joyfully Addicted

Apr 7, 2009
    Texas
    When you use it you will see the chickens wiping their beaks on the ground. Don't worry its just because they can't wipe it off. It has to wear off and it won't last that long but it will get the point across!

6. MandyH

MandyH You'll shoot your eye out!