VIDEO: Is this coughing or sneezing, and what do I do?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by eggfooyoung, Apr 24, 2017.

1. eggfooyoung

eggfooyoung Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2017
    Raleigh, NC
    I've got one 3wk old chick who is sick. She was MUCH worse, with very labored breathing and constant coughing, neck stretching and chirping with no voice, but I started them on Corid this past Saturday morning and she's much better, VERY active as well as eating & drinking fine, but still has a lingering "cough". Not even sure what's wrong with her, but can you please take a look and see if you're familiar with this behavior, and if you think the Corid will help? Not sure what else I can try...

I posted a video a few days ago but it got very few replies even though it's had over 50 views. Hoping someone, anyone will be able to give me some advice :)

I'm brand new to chickens so any assistance would be SO very appreciated! Thank you!!

[​IMG]

2. eggfooyoung

Mar 29, 2017
    Raleigh, NC
    Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?

3. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    Corid isn't an antibiotic. All it has in it is a thiamine blocker for the cocci parasite. Your chick likely has respiratory issues, and may need an antibiotic if it doesn't get better. Be alert for runny eyes and discharge from the beak.

It's sneezing, by the way, but sneezing may be caused by a dusty environment. Chicks have very sensitive respiratory systems, so cutting down on dusty bedding may help.

4. eggfooyoung

Mar 29, 2017
    Raleigh, NC
    Hi @azygous and thanks for the reply... the only person that replied to me the first time I posted about the chick being sick said to do Corid, even after watching the video. So I did - and oddly, she seems much better. Not sure though how to make the bedding less dusty. I actually think it's the food and not the pine shavings... but again, not sure what to do about that?