Virgin Hatcher!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Sutherland906, Mar 8, 2017.

1. Sutherland906

Sutherland906 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2016
    Upstate, NY
    I don't plan on hatching often, so I decided to make the first one count... I got lavender orp eggs! Because they were shipped (and I'm not a pro), I also put 6 of my own eggs in. Figuring if there was an issue, I could determine whether it was my doing or the fact of having shipped eggs. I'm at the 2 week mark now and everything is coming along great. 16 of 18 eggs are progressing nicely, but as I'm nearing lockdown I have questions..

1. I put them in the bator at 12 am on 2/23. How exact does timing need to be? Can I do it 2 hours early? When they went in, I had the next day off of work.. so I didn't take into consideration the timing of lockdown. Just wondering what/if there is any risk doing it a couple hours early so I still get some sleep.

2. Also, I found one of my girls sitting on a few days after I started the incubator. She has since pushed a few out and now is down to 1. So I'm kind of unsure of what to do. Providing it hatches, should I bring it inside with the others? Bring a few of the others out to join her and her chickie? I feel bad taking her baby away, but would she accept my hatched chicks as her own? Hatched babies will be here a couple days sooner.. If she would accept them, would that be something to do immediately, or once her baby hatches?

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Hatchaholic Extrordinaire Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    You can lock down a little early if you need to, it won't negatively affect the eggs :)