Wailing Chicken, I don't know what's wrong!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by abell4229, Aug 6, 2013.

1. abell4229

abell4229 New Egg

Aug 2, 2013
    I'm new to chickens this spring. And I LOVE them, they are my little pets. We had a fox incident and I lost all but two, I was devastated! Went on a trip for a week with my girlfriend (planned long ago) and came home to my dear husband who had so sweetly gotten me some new chickens. That was a couple weeks ago. Of the eight he got me (one rooster, three well summers, and four buff orpingtons) the buffs are of unknown age. He said they were a couple years old but laying eggs. I have gotten a few eggs but nothing consistent from them and the well summers are still young. The problem is Martha one of the buffs started making a weird noise earlier today. She is just wailing and crying like a human baby. She seems a bit calmer than normal when I'm handling her today. I checked her all over and the only thing I can find is some weird feathers (maybe picked at?) on her lower neck upper breast area. When I apply pressure there she sqwaks and jumps. If she shakes to fluff her feathers she makes the same noise. I don't know what's wrong or what to do. Having only had them a few weeks and not knowing anything about them and being new to chickens I am helpless. She has no interest in food, treats or water. I tried when she was crying to drop some water down her beak but she really didn't want it and I was afraid of aspirating her not knowing what I was doing. Help!

2. Chicks and Hens

Chicks and Hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 25, 2013
    With my chickens