Walking on hocks, niacin deficient, should I cull?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Chickenfeeder22, Apr 3, 2018.

1. Chickenfeeder22

Chickenfeeder22 In the Brooder

Mar 24, 2018
    Hi all,
    I have a month old rouen duck who has been walking on his hocks for about 3 weeks now. We got him and 3 others from TSC and in the beginning he was the strongest, but after a few days he was weak and couldn't walk. Granted this is my first time raising ducks so I didn't know about giving him brewer's yeast or niacin. Once this happened we gave him brewer's yeast and then moved to niacin pills. After about a week and a half, after posting on here, I found out I was giving him the wrong type of niacin (time-released niacin). I have since moved to B-12 and Nutri-drench for poultry. I took him to the vet (after 3 weeks of blowing me off) and he didn't seem to know what was going on. He claimed my duck has been like this since he was an egg which I know is false since he was the strongest when we got him.
    The duckling walks on his hocks and other than the frustration of walking on his hocks he seems fine. He's developing normally and eating and drinking just fine. My question to all of you is: should I cull him or can he still live a long and happy life even though he's walking on his hocks? Or, even better, does anyone have any other ideas of what I can do to try and heal him? I have spent hours researching and have literally lost sleep over this trying to find the answer but I can't find anything. Like I said, he's been like this for about 3 weeks now so I don't know if it's too late to fix his legs. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!!

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Loving this country life

So sorry about your duckling. I would go for B complex so he is getting all the B vitamins, not sure at this late date much can be done but I sure wouldn't give up till he does.