Wall-mounted feeders?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by sovia, Apr 25, 2008.

1. sovia

sovia Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2008
    Black Hills of SD
    I will have 20 hens in our coop/run and am considering placing wall-mounted feeders both inside and outside the coop. The reason for inside is to open up floor space. The reason for outside is to use the roof overhang to protect the feed a little more. I have noticed that most people prefer the hanging tube type. Is there something more that I should be considering? Thanks.

2. sBrickmanHouse

sBrickmanHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2008
    I'm a newbie chicken owner, so I'm not sure if there's something I don't know about or am not considering, but we have wall-mounted feeders in our coop and we love them!

They do save floor space, can't be tipped over, can't really be roosted on, are open at the top for easy filling. . . we haven't found a down side to them yet.

I truly don't understand why more people don't use them.

3. Marlinchaser

Marlinchaser Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2007
    MERRY LAND
    Mine is wall mounted, I think the hanging feeder is what is sold most, so that is what most go with.

4. Dilly

Dilly Cooped Up

Apr 15, 2008
    Quote:Hi could you post some pics of the inside of your coop or feeder really to show the design. Thanks

5. sBrickmanHouse

sBrickmanHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2008
    Sure! Here's a pic from a couple of months ago, when the girls were still really little. They weren't filled yet (we were still using the chick feeders) but it gives you a good idea of the set-up.

We have 23 birds, and we keep them both filled. We don't have to worry about refilling them probably more than once a week or so.

The more we use them, the more we like them!

[​IMG]

6. Flufnstuffs~FluffySilkies

Flufnstuffs~FluffySilkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    NY