wanna-be farmer

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by blogachick, Feb 11, 2017.

1. blogachick

blogachick Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2017
    Dancing with Chickens
    Hi All,

I am an old hippy chick writer. I live in the city but have turned my backyard into a farm where I grow organic food and dance amongst the chickens. I began my farming career several years ago after reading yet another headline telling me that the American diet of processed, sugar laden, chemically-enhanced, genetically-modified food we are eating is making us sick. I went in search of a healthier diet and found a new way of life. As for the chickens, I brought them home for the eggs. Who knew I would fall in love with them?

I’ve spent a lifetime as a city gal so reinventing myself as a farmer has been a challenge. I am a work in progress and I’ve come here to connect with other chicken people, learn from them and exchange stories.

Blogachick

2. Bantambird

Bantambird Overrun With Chickens

Feb 6, 2013
    Montana
    Welcome! Chickens sure are fun to have around, aren't they? Welcome to the family!

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, Blogachick, and [​IMG]! It's really great to have you aboard! Lots of BYC members started on a quest similar to yours and that brought them to chickens - and they are happier and healthier for it. A great forum in which to share your poultry and life experiences can be located in this link: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/39/pictures-stories-of-my-chickens
    Best wishes and thanks for joining BYC - and enjoy your flock! [​IMG]

4. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join us here! What a change in lifestyle for you :D It's great to hear you have fallen in love with your chickens, they sure are easy to do that with.