Wanna Free Range My Roo's, But---

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by krazeepolack, Oct 30, 2010.

1. krazeepolack

krazeepolack Chillin' With My Peeps

I have two roo's out of a flock of twenty six hens (24 hens, now) I'd like to place shelter for them out of the coop & run, maybe in a couple enclosed cat litter boxes, w/thier own food/water supply. I have a hunting cat! He brings home anything from tarantula's, snakes, lizards, rabbits, & a few other things. [​IMG] If I turn out my roo's, what are thier chances fending off my cat? [​IMG] The roo's are presently13 weeks old. The cat, 3 years- anyone???? [​IMG]

2. PineappleMama

PineappleMama Chillin' With My Peeps

Don't have a roo or a cat, so I'm no expert but I haven't heard of too many stories of housecats taking on full grown hens... much less a roo. Chicks, yes... or at least a maybe... but full grown they're smart enough to know that beak will hurt.

3. krazeepolack

I know about the sharp beaks!![​IMG] I've been "beaked" a few times already. Just that this cat seems to know no bounds. One of the snakes was four feet long (luckily for me, no rattles, 'cause that fool brought it IN THE HOUSE-TWICE) [​IMG] Will they want to fight between themselves on the outside, w/o access to the hens?? The roo's will just have to take whatever comes along in the big outdoor world, I guess.

4. Sunny Side Up

Sunny Side Up Count your many blessings...

Mar 12, 2008
    Loxahatchee, Florida
    [​IMG] Why do you want to keep them outside of the coop & run? At 13 weeks they're still very vulnerable to a number of predators. Even when full-grown they'll be vulnerable to predators, especially at night. They will need their own coop, or let them bunk with the hens.

5. krazeepolack

I want to collect eggs, not little chicks. [​IMG] I got the two roo's as an added feature from an un named hatchery, well disguised as hens! [​IMG] OOPS!

6. LilBizzy

LilBizzy Chicken Storyteller

May 20, 2008
    Maryland