Want to start building a coop to raise chickens on the side of our old barn in Vermont

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by RobVT, Jan 13, 2015.

1. RobVT

RobVT New Egg

Jan 13, 2015
    Hi Everybody!

Brand new to the forum and have LOTS of questions!

I am a total newbie. I have an old garage with an extra stall that is ready to be altered.

I have a 12' x 6' area just outside the area of the barn I hope to use for the coop.

I am hoping to build a small ramp for the chickens to be able to return inside to the coop from the outside.

As far as the interior of the stall goes, I want to make sure I frame out an area large enough to house a coop for 6-10 hens.

Would framing an area 6' x 6' be large enough for the interior coop area?

I have enclosed pics of the outside where the ramp would lead to the outside run, as well as the interior of the stall.

How much interior area do the chickens need? Or is the interior mainly intended for housing and egg laying? How many nesting boxes would I need? Is it better to have the interior coop raised off of the ground for warmth purposes during the cold, cold Winters we have here in VT?

Thank you and I look forward to the conversation!

Rob[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC![​IMG]

I've answered some of your questions:

3. Percheron chick

Percheron chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2013
    Boulder, Colorado
    Any reason to not give the chickens the entire stall? More is always better especially in VT where they might spend months on end inside.

4. RobVT

RobVT New Egg

Jan 13, 2015
    Thank you for your answers!

No real reason, but wanted to use the space as efficiently as possible, as it is also used for storage.