1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Wanted: Chicks in the Spokane,WA area

Discussion in 'Buy Sell Auction - Archives' started by yemana, May 11, 2009.

1. yemana

yemana New Egg

May 11, 2009
    Hello,

I am new to raising chickens and would like some advice on the best ones to get for eggs. I also am in the market to get 3 hens if anyone knows of some? Any newbie advice would be helpful too:)

Kathlene

2. idahodebra

idahodebra Out Of The Brooder

Dec 14, 2008
    Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
    Welcome! Have you checked out Big R on Trent? They may still have chicks. Also, Aslin-Finch by Costco and Home Depot on Sprague still had a few a couple of days ago. I see them listed on Craigslist quite a bit. Most of the ones I've seen the feed/farm stores carry are usually good layers, and suited for our climate- Barred Rocks, Buff Orps, Wyandottes, Rhode Island Reds, Red Stars, Australorps, to name a few. I also see hens listed on Craigslist. They are usually about $10-15 each, which isn't bad if you think about how much it costs to raise a chick to laying age.