Wanting to get ducks, which breed?!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Cuqui18, Jul 3, 2011.

1. Cuqui18

Cuqui18 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2011
    Concord, Ma
    can people tell me about the breed of ducks they own? i was thinking about cayugas, saxonies, appleyards, idk???i need a relatively quiet ducks as i have neighbors, and i want friendly ducks as well!!! which breeds do you have and whats your opinion about them?

2. Kschwartz

Kschwartz Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2011
    I have 2 Rouen ducklings (3 wks) I am also really new to ducks and all but so far I love them! They are very entertaining and friendly, please consider these guys too! [​IMG]

3. Widget

Widget Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2008
    Limington, Maine
    Currently I have some young Saxonies (about three months old, Indian Runners and Muscovies. I've had Anocnas plus some mixed breeds too. I really like the looks of the Saxonies. The Muscovies are the most quiet since they don't quack only hiss. The Indian Runners are just odd enough looking to be cute.

4. Cuqui18

Apr 17, 2011
    Concord, Ma
    Quote:How do the runners behave? whats some personality characteristics they have?

5. Cuqui18

Apr 17, 2011
    Concord, Ma
    Quote:i certainly willl!!! whats there personality like? behavior?

6. lovesgliders

lovesgliders Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2011
    Maine
    I love the little banty ducks. I currently have three Mallards and would like to get a call duck or two sometime. [​IMG] My Mallards are SUPER friendly! Cry for me when I'm not in the room and climb all over me when I sit down, and follow me everywhere. I just love them!

7. TLWR

TLWR Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    southern AL
    I have runners. They went through a loud phase but have really become mostly quiet ducks unless there is something that concerns them, then they start quacking again. But they really aren't quackers anymore.