Wanting to Raise Chickens

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Puddin14, Mar 2, 2013.

1. Puddin14

Puddin14 Just Hatched

Feb 28, 2013
    Hi Everyone. I'm new to BYC and new to raising chickens. I have never raised them and I have always wanted to have chickens. My local TSC has them in, however, before I can purchase the baby chicks, my other half insists that I have a coop ready for them for when its time for them to be outside. Because I really want to raise them, is there a quick simple coop or something that I can put together in a weekend so that I can purchase the babies. I don't know why I have to have the coop all ready for adult chickens when the chicks will be inside for a few more weeks, I live in Michigan and it will be cold for a little while yet, but I guess I must do what I must do in order to experience the joys of being a chicken mama. I'm hoping some of you can help me achieve this.

Thank you so much.
    Lori

2. Charlieandlola

Charlieandlola Out Of The Brooder

Jan 13, 2013
    I would pick out a coop plan or design also before buying them. If you are building something yourself, sometimes it takes longer than you think it will.

You can look for coop ideas to build yourself on this website or you can buy something that just needs to be assembled. Even farm stores carry chicken coops for small flocks. How many are you getting?

3. OCpeep

OCpeep Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2012
    Orange County, CA
    [​IMG]

Glad you're thinking ahead. The chicks will grow quickly, and you don't want to be caught without a coop for them to move into. There are lots of options for coops. The coops page has lots of ideas. Do you plan on building one or buying one that's already done? You may also find someone selling coops on craigslist in your area.

1 person likes this.
  4. MoonShadows

MoonShadows The Jam Man

Jan 23, 2013
    Pocono Mtns
    My Coop
    Hi Lori,