WARNING: GFIC outlets may not protect against coop fires!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by RonP, Jan 13, 2018.

1. RonP

RonP Crowing

First off, I am not a licensed electrician, but I do have a better than average understanding about electric wiring.

There are many posts touting the necessities of wiring your coop via a GFCI Receptacle, which helps protect people from shock or electrocution resulting from ground faults. This is all great information that may save your life, but not necessarily your coop from a fire.

Unless you have steel-sheathed cable or the equivalent, your electrical wiring insulation may effortlessly become compromised by a rodent chewing through it. There then is an excellent possibility it could develop an arcing condition that may not trip a GFCI receptacle.

That arc may very well ignite the combustible materials associated within our coops!

I did a quick site search and found little to no posts about the benefit of using a AFCI/GFCI Dual Function Outlet such as the one I have installed in my home, supplying electricity to my coop. An AFCI receptacle or breaker is designed to trip upon an arcing condition.

I started this thread hoping to make aware the false sense of security many have believing they have done a fine job wiring their coop…

It’s you coop, your choice, but my advice to all is that if you do not know what you are doing, you should consider hiring a licensed professional, not me, as I can only offer my opinion. :hmm

I hope this helps someone prevent a potential disaster.

2. bruceha2000

bruceha2000 Free Ranging

Apr 19, 2012
    NW Vermont
    Good point @RonP. I know the electricians put in arc fault breakers in the rebuilt part of our house other than the potentially wet areas where there are GFI outlets.

Hamiam, chickisoup, penny1960 and 2 others like this.
  3. RonP

RonP Crowing

I'm sure to meet new code requirements...

4. NoNameHomestead

NoNameHomestead Chirping