Was unaware Meyer Hatchery doesn't routinely vaccinate their chicks

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by whitehart, Jun 20, 2011.

1. whitehart

whitehart Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2011
    I'm a newbie with 6 Production Reds now 17 weeks and they look fantastic ,my first chickens from Tractor Supply. I was told when I purchased TS chicks they come vaccinated .
    I was looking to add to our little flock and checked BYC on Saturday looking for advice on where might be the best place to order more chicks other than the limited selection found at TS. Meyers was one of the recomended hatcheries and I looked at their website which was very nice and went ahead and ordered White Rock,Blue Andalusian and Barred rock's total of 6 from their website . While looking again at their site today I realized they had nothing indicating they vaccinate. I immidiately called them for clarification and was told I had to request that when I ordered. There is nothing on that website referencing that option, just a vague comment that they recomended customer vaccinate.They told me it was too late to have that done because they should have been vaccinated at hatching and were packed for shipment and I should receive tomorrow or Wednesday. She also said I shoudn't worry all I had to do was feed medicated chick starter and they would be OK . Marek's is not coccidia so why would medicated feed be an alternative to vaccination ?Should I be concerned I know ignorance is bliss but I assumed all chicks were vaccinated.
    I plan on isolating these babies at least 8 weeks anyway but what are the risks of not vaccinating?

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida