Wat is considered Day One in the Incubaor???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by antiquebuff, Mar 2, 2008.

1. antiquebuff

antiquebuff Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2008
    Franklin, NC
    Oh My, I am new to this.......What counts as day one in the incubator. I counted the first day as day one and someone told me that was not right and I am trying to see if I should have babies tomorrow or Tuesday. I quit turning last night.
    Thanks for the help! I have learned so much form the site!!![​IMG]

2. hypnofrogstevie

hypnofrogstevie chick magnet

Jul 12, 2007
    Newton NJ
    oh man I cant believe I forgot this. I think if you put them in, in the morning its day one and if you put them in at night (around 7pm the next day counts as day 1. Someone will correct me

Last edited: Mar 2, 2008
  3. LilPeeps

LilPeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2007
    SE Mass
    That's what I always go by. BTW, you should stop turning at day 18.

Last edited: Mar 2, 2008
  4. Berynn

Berynn Cooped Up

Oct 13, 2007
    I have always been told that if you put them in the bater before noon on that day then count it as day one, after noon count it as day two. Going by my chicken egg hatches that seems to be the case

5. Berynn

Berynn Cooped Up

Oct 13, 2007
    i didnot mean day two i am sorry the next day is counted as day one

6. antiquebuff

Feb 27, 2008
    Franklin, NC
    Thanks so much! I will now wait and see what happens. I can't see anything going on yet. I will keep you informed! I am so excited! [​IMG]

7. twigg

twigg Cooped up

Mar 2, 2008
    Tulsa
    Work it out in hours [​IMG]

The chicks from hens eggs should hatch on the 21st day, so anything from 480 to 504 hours from reaching incubation temp would be perfect.

24 hours early, or up to 48 hours late then check the temperature. If only 1 or 2 out of a large batch are early or late, then most likely it is the egg, not the incubator that is the problem.

8. perrym1962