Water Moccasins in Pond

Discussion in 'Guinea Fowl' started by nddaddy, Feb 24, 2013.

1. nddaddy

nddaddy Out Of The Brooder

Feb 9, 2013
    We just bought some land (3 acres). In part of clearing it off, there is a pond with water moccasins in it.

I'd like to keep the pond to keep ducks as well.

Do guineas do a good job of getting rid of them? Also I'm not out there everyday, is that okay for guineas?

2. PeepsCA

PeepsCA Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2011
    Big Oak Valley, CA
    I know nothing about water moccasins other than that they are poisonous and they can swim... so I have no personal experience with Guineas controlling them. Guineas won't go in the water, but if the snakes come onto land often the Guineas may help control them, but it's hard to say. Some Guineas are very effective snake control, others are not. Mine take care of rattle snakes and gopher snakes of all sizes here on my 10 acres... but a lot of people say their Guineas do nothing but give the large snakes a wide birth.

3. MiniHorses

MiniHorses Out Of The Brooder

Aug 12, 2012
    WOW...water moccassins are nasty, fat and nasty. Can be large. Yes, poison and you need someone with a gun and who is a really good shot! Pigs are good at clearing out snakes, in general. But many animals will stay out of the way of a snake.......except a good ole boy and a gun.

Personally, I'd try to irradicate with the knowledge that the "deed was done".

4. JLeigh

JLeigh Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2012
    North Georgia
    This ^ is what I would do. I get rid of those creepy things asap (except I might not do the poison b/c of possible collateral damage), but I'd be the first one out there with a gun. I wouldn't depend on guineas! They're fickle little buggers.

5. nova022

nova022 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 3, 2012